

Policy - Instructors-in-Training Policy Number: 001-17 Approved by the Board: February 13, 2017 Last Updated: August 8, 2022

I. Purpose

a. The purpose of this policy is to provide guidelines for the Board staff in implementing the instructor-in-training permit process approved by the Board 11/09/2015.

II. Authority

a. Application for an instructor-in-training permit allows a licensee to instruct on the floor in a licensed school after completing 100 clock hours K.S.A. 65-1 903(k) (1).

b. Seven days prior to the start date of training the instructor in training must submit the Instructor in Training Permit Application and Fee. K.S.A. 65-1903(k)(2)(A).

c. Upon completion of 100 hours of training the applicant shall submit the verification of 100 hours using the Instructor in Training Verification form K.S.A. 65-1903(k)(2)(B).

d. Prior to the expiration date of the permit, the applicant may ask for an extension of their initial permit and show good cause for the request for an extension K.S.A. 65-1903(k)(3).

e. Failure to complete the instructor curriculum or to take the required exam within six months of the date of application will require the submission of a new instructor's application and the required number of clock hours of instructor's training K.S.A 65-1903(k)(6).

f. The Board, in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas Administrative Procedure Act, may refuse to issue or renew a license, or revoke, suspend, censure, limit or condition a license for failure to comply with any provision of this act, with the rules and regulations of the Board of Cosmetology or with any order issued by the Board. K.S.A. 65-1908(a)(2).

g. In addition to the board's authority to refuse licensure or impose discipline pursuant to subsection (a), the board shall have the authority to assess a fine not in excess of \$1,000 against a licensee for each of the reasons specified in subsection (a). Such fine may be assessed in lieu of or in addition to such discipline. K.S.A 65-1908(d).



Kansas Board of Cosmetology 714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002 Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

III. Policy and Procedures

a. Instructors in training that have not submitted the Notice of Intent included in the Instructor in Training Permit Application seven days prior to the start date of training.

i. Instructor in training is fined pursuant to the Board approved fine schedule guidance document.

b. Instructor in training fails to submit the verification of 100 hours within 50 hours of meeting the 100-hour requirement but not before 100-hour requirement has been met to receive the instructor in training permit.

i. Instructor in training is fined pursuant to the Board approved fine schedule guidance document.

c. Instructor in training submits request for extension prior to the six-month expiration date of the permit.

i. The request for extension will be reviewed by the Board's Disciplinary Panel.

d. Instructor in training fails complete training and examination within six months of the permit application submission date.

i. Board staff will refer to the Board's Disciplinary panel for direction.

Laura Gloeckner Executive Director Kansas Board of Cosmetology